Born out of the advent of professional rugby at the end of 1995, nine New Zealand provincial rugby unions came together to form the Wellington Hurricanes for the start of the inaugural Super 12 competition in 1996. The Wellington, Taranaki, Manawatu, Hawke's Bay, East Coast, Poverty Bay, Wanganui, Wairarapa-Bush and Horowhenua-Kapiti unions all formed the Hurricanes region. The new franchise was the largest of the five in New Zealand, representing 920,000 people and has provided 20 seasons of spectacular highlights.

The following players have played for the Hurricanes

Jamie Booth

Jamie Booth - Halfback

Brayden Iose

Brayden Iose - Number 8

Ngani Laumape

Ngani Laumape - Second Five Eighth

Liam Mitchell

Liam Mitchell - Lock

Fraser Armstrong

Fraser Armstrong - Tighthead Prop

Tom Hughes

Tom Hughes - Lock

Otere Black

Otere Black - First Five Eighth

Chris Eves

Chris Eves - Loosehead Prop

Tasitumua Sala

Tasitumua Sala - Number 8

Karl Haitana

Karl Haitana - Tighthead Prop

Hadleigh Parkes

Hadleigh Parkes - Centre

Shannon Paku

Shannon Paku - Fullback

Callum Gibbins

Callum Gibbins - Flanker

Ma'afu Fia

Ma'afu Fia - Tighthead Prop

Aaron Cruden

Aaron Cruden - First Five Eighth

Ged Robinson

Ged Robinson - Hooker

Kuramate Tuirirangi

Kuramate Tuirirangi - Tighthead Prop

Tane Tuipulotu

Tane Tuipulotu - Second Five Eighth

Andre Taylor

Andre Taylor - Fullback

Roelof Viljoen

Roelof Viljoen - Halfback

Nick Crosswell

Nick Crosswell - Flanker

Johnny Leota

Johnny Leota - Centre

Josh Bradnock

Josh Bradnock - Flanker

Brent Thompson

Brent Thompson - Number 8