Turbos Sign Ambrose Curtis

on Friday, 21 August 2015. Posted in Turbos News

Ambrose Curtis ITM Cup Turbos

The Manawatu Turbos have signed former Wellington Lions and New Zealand Sevens representative Ambrose Curtis.

Curtis has been called in to replace the injured Newton Tudreu, who is out for six weeks after suffering a leg injury against Counties Manukau on Sunday. For the time being, Curtis has been signed on a week-to-week basis, but has the opportunity to play his way into the full squad.

“It is good to bring a player like Ambrose into our environment, the injury to Newton is not ideal, but Ambrose has played at a very high level internationally so it will but good to have him adding to it.” Head coach Jason O’Halloran outlined;

“He was very eager to come on a board and is keen to push hard in the 15s version of the game as he tries to assess where to take his career in the long run.”

Manawatu Turbos Ambrose Curtis ITM Cup 2015

Curtis started his professional career with the New Zealand under-20s in 2012, before making his provincial debut for Wellington in the same year. At 1.94m and 100kg, the 23 year-old caught the eye of Sir Gordon Tietjens, and was quickly brought into the NZ Sevens mix.

Ambrose has plenty of speed and skill to go along with his raw power, making him difficult to stop in full flight. He has been a prolific try-scorer during his time on the Sevens circuit. 


Manawatu Turbos Ambrose Curtis ITM Cup NZ Sevens

In 2015, Curtis was initially signed up by the Hurricanes for his first Super Rugby season, but opted out of the first year of his contract to remain with the Sevens, as he eyes a place with the team at the Rio Olympics next year.

He was also a part of the Wellington Lions' squad this season, until Cory Jane's run of injuries saw him take up a place – for now – in the team. 


NEXT HOME GAME 22/8/2015

Gates Open 11.30am

Curtain Raiser 12.05pm

Manawatu Cyclones vs. Bay of Plenty

Kick off 2.35pm

Get Tickets HereGet Tickets Here



1. Adrian Barone

2. Rob Foreman

3. Michael Alaalatoa

4. Fraser Stone

5. Tom Parsons

6. Heiden Bedwell-Curtis

7. Callum Gibbins

8. Anotinio Kiri Kiri

9. Kayne Hammington

10. Otere Black

11. Nathan Tudreu

12. Hamish Northcott

13. Jason Emery

14. Semisi Masirewa

15. Hamiora Thomas



16. Nick Grogan

17. Tim Cadwallader

18. Fraser Armstrong

19. Valentino Mapapalangi

20. Mark Atkins

21. Jamie Booth

22. Sam Malcolm

23. Jaxon Tagavaitau