Turbos 2019 draw announced

on Tuesday, 26 February 2019. Posted in Turbos News

Turbos 2019 draw announced

The Manawatu Turbos have confirmed back-to-back home matches to open their 2019 Mitre 10 Cup campaign.

New Zealand rugby released the provincial competition’s draw on Tuesday with the Turbos also slated for another shot at the Ranfurly Shield in week four.

This year’s Mitre 10 Cup has been extended by a week and Wednesday night rugby/ double header weeks removed.

The Turbos’ season kicks off with a home match against Hawke’s Bay at 4.35pm on Sunday August 11.

The annual grudge match has some added spice given new Turbos coach Peter Russell will make his debut against the province he coached for five years in 2007-11.

Manawatu then play host to Taranaki in derby week of the competition on Saturday August 17 at 2.05pm.

In week five, Manawatu face Northland on Thursday September 5 at 7.35pm at Central Energy Trust Arena with revenge sure to be on the Turbos’ mind after their performance against the Taniwha last season,

In week eight the Turbos take on Premeirship opponents North Harbour on Sunday September 29 at 4.35pm.

The final home match of the season comes in the final round with Counties Manukau coming to town on Saturday October 12 at 5.05pm.

The highlight of the Turbos’ away schedule undoubtedly comes on August 30 when they will potentially challenge Otago for the Ranfurly Shield.

Otago will have just one challenge against a Mitre 10 Cup side – Southland in week two - prior to their fixture against Manawatu.

The Turbos’ first away match comes in week three against Tasman on August 24.

The other away fixtures are Southland (September 14), Canterbury (September 19) and Bay of Plenty (October 5).

The Mitre 10 Cup semifinals are down for October 18 and 19 and the Championship final is on October 26.

2019 Turbos Schedule

TURBOS vs Hawke's Bay Sun 11 Aug | 4.35pm

TURBOS  vs Taranaki   Sat 17 Aug | 2.05pm

Tasman vs TURBOS Sat 24 Aug | 5.05pm

Otago vs TURBOS Fri 30 Aug | 7.35pm

TURBOS vs Northland  Thu 5 Sep | 7.35pm

Southland vs TURBOS Sat 14 Sep | 5.05pm

Canterbury vs TURBOS Thu 19 Sep | 7.35pm

TURBOS vs North Harbour Sun 29 Sep | 4.35pm

Bay of Plenty vs TURBOS Sat 5 Oct | 2.35pm

TURBOS vs Counties Manukau Sat 12 Oct | 5.05pm