• Home
  • News
  • Familiar Faces to Return for Tasman

Familiar Faces to Return for Tasman

on Thursday, 24 August 2017. Posted in Turbos News

Familiar Faces to Return for Tasman

Kurt Baker and Michael Alaalatoa to start. Loose forward Brice Henderson also makes his way back intro the squad.

Two Super Rugby calibre players will be getting their first start for the Turbos against the Makos this Sunday at Central Energy Trust Arena. Kurt Baker has received clearance from Italian club Zebre, replacing Nehe Milner-Skudder who has travelled south to join up with the All Black's camp. Unable to get any preseason rugby under his belt, he's been looking comfortable training in his home colours and will be rearing to go now that all the administration has been taken care of.

Michael Alaalatoa has also returned, earning a well-deserved rest last week after a succesful Super campaign with the Crusaders. Alaalatoa will come into a scrum that performed well last Saturday, and was one of captain Heiden Bedwell-Curtis' positive takeaways from the match.

"I thought the scrum was really solid and provided the backs a good platform to work from. Our defence systems need a little work. Our attitude was good and we worked hard. We now need to work a little smarter and focus on being more effective."

Tasman, having lost last week in a repeat of last year's final to Canterbury, will be out to upset these intentions, but will have to overcome another strong squad named by Coach Jeremy Cotter.

Turbos squad to face the Tasman Makos on Sunday, 2.35PM. Get your tickets herehere

15 Kurt Baker (Kia Toa),

14 Ambrose Curtis (OBM),

13 Lewis Marshall (FOB-Oroua),

12 Curtis Reid (COB)/Hamish Northcott (Varsity),

11 Willy Ambaka (FOB-Oroua),

10 Otere Black (COB),

9 Kayne Hammington (Feilding);

8 Heiden Bedwell-Curtis (c) (Feilding),

7 Antonio Kiri Kiri (OBM),

6 Nick Crosswell (Feilding),

5 Jackson Hemopo (Kia Toa),

4 Tom Parsons (Te Kawau),

3 Michael Alaalatoa (FOB-Oroua),

2 Hunter Prescott (OBM),

1 Fraser Armstrong (OBM).

Reserves: 16 Tim Cadwallader (COB), 17 Tuki Raimona (COB), 18 Sean Paranihi (FOB-Oroua), 19 Liam Hallam-Eames (OBM), 20 Brice Henderson (COB), 21 Jamie Booth (Varsity), 22 Jade Te Rure (Kia Toa), 23 Newton Tudreu (Kia Toa).

*A late decision will be made on the fitness of second-five eight Hamish Northcott